Getting Fired

boo516

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
Hi guys. I have a question for some of you who've been out in the working world much longer than I have and know more than I do. However a little back story.

I graduated from a top 20 university with a BBA in Finance (Bachelors in Business Administration) in May with a 3.2 GPA. As soon as I graduated I went to work for the Home Depot as a Merchandising Assistant. While I loved the company and many of the people. I got fired after a month because my manager thought my attitude was bad and I wasn't paying attention to her and even went far to say I didn't respect her because she was a women. I felt that this was incredibly untrue because I really respected her for what she does for the company and tried to reassure her that I wasn't trying to disrespect her whatsoever and that I genuinely had no problems with her. I even consulted with another guy on the team who was good friends with her and a manager in a different department. He assured me it was just a communication issue and that I just needed to reassure her that I wasn't and work on it. But ultimately it was her decision and I was canned after a month on the job. I thought to myself, ok maybe this is a one off and I'll definitely work on my attitude if that is a real problem.