Are you good at informal tech support ?

Guytronic

Ambassador Team Leader
Nov 4, 2013
Visit site
I ask because a few neighbors, friends and former bosses of mine were clueless about anything to do with phones or PC's.

• So do you like to help others outside of the web or these forums when it comes to their confusion about today's technology?
  • Are you good at it if it's not your actual day to day job?
  • Does anyone you help catch on quickly or do they have the "blank stare" :)

raycpl

Apr 6, 2013
Visit site
I'm strictly on WP, but colleague keep coming to me with the bloody problems on their Androids & iPhone.

... !!

libra89

Feb 6, 2015
Visit site
With my phone switching, I can try to help somewhat but my parents expect for me to help them haha.

For PCs, I'm useless. I generally just search for what I don't know but a soft reset for phones (and even PCs) generally fixes the little things.

jmshub

Apr 16, 2011
Visit site
I am an IT professional, and occasionally that includes some help desk work. I find that it makes me worse at trying to help friends and family with their IT problems. I increasingly lack the patience to try to talk people through any IT calamity...with help desk, every time I get a call, I wind up remoting into their system. Trying to explain things to people over the phone is extremely taxing for me :)

Josiah23

Mar 25, 2015
Visit site