Is Windows 7 still a thing?

jmshub

Apr 16, 2011
Visit site
I work in IT for a medium sized organization. Somewhere in the neighborhood of 500-700 desktop. Currently, 95% of our machines, including brand new ones being imaged today, are running Windows 7. We have a volume license, and push a Win7 image that we've been maintaining through every monthly update for years and years now.

Windows 7 ends support in 2020, and Intel 7th gen chips don't properly support Win7, so that is finally the impetus to migrate. In our case, it isn't our decision. We need the hardware and software that we use to be formally supported by Windows 10. That was our first major hurdle. Even the big vendors are very slow to support any new version of Windows. (Side note: I got to this company just after Windows XP EoL'ed, and they were in a serious rush to get migrated to 7, mostly because of the products not supporting 7 until the last minute).

Anywhoo, while our product mangers are watching vendors' whitesheets to see new versions finally fully support 10, in IT, we need to build test machines running 10, and then reconfigure our group policy objects to lock down the machines to fit the restrictions we have in place. And then we need to patch them with our patch mangement software, make sure that 10 behaves like 7, gets updated properly, and that we can keep them from automatically updating and downloading those huge feature updates in the middle of a workday.

Then, after we have the machines ready to go, we can build machines to give to the Training dept to allow them to write user guides, to cut down on all of the support calls that we are bound to get from part time sales associates who show up on Saturday morning, and now the "screens look different".