Why I won’t buy anymore Windows hardware….ever.

tophera

Sep 23, 2018
Visit site
I’m considering this a cathartic experience, however there are some nuggets of wisdom in it, if anyone cares to read.

First – I’ve been a Windows (Microsoft) fan all my life. I’ve never bought into the stylized veneer of other products. I’ve just wanted things to work, and work well. Sometimes MS has hit and sometimes missed, but it’s always worked to get better. I’ve been a small business owner, and now a senior executive at a major technology provider, always promoting MS tech and I’ve cheered MS’s new direction under Satya, and hope for great things to come.

However, I won’t buy anymore Windows hardware….ever.

With the surface book was first announced I jumped onboard. I even flew from SLC to Denver chasing down an “in stock” phantom, eventually having to purchase one on best buy and wait. When I got it, it was everything I hoped it would be.

But within a short period of time hardware issues started to creep in, and then almost as if by design, as the warranty expired, the $3,000 laptop became unusable. I’m not talking about minor things, for example - I’m talking about horrible light bleed and screen disfiguration (happy to send photos). The dock becoming inoperable. Random disconnecting and connecting of peripherals, and the keyboard --- oh man, just bump this thing and poof – it’s gone. Multiple failures/quality issues across the board.

I’ve never had a piece of hardware fail like my Surface Book. I also know that I’m not alone. Just searching the web and you see the consumer reports downgrade, and similar experiences. Even more frustrating, I couldn't find any way to contact support that doesn’t infer some sort of fee to complain. It's disheartening. I’ve tried over the past year to offer feedback and it’s such a pain that I give up.

$3,000 for an early adopter experience like this was/is a bummer.