Onedrive sync is very slow on my Mac, how can I speed it up?

• Thread starter Windows Central Question
  • Start date
W

Windows Central Question

Onedrive sync is very slow on my Mac

I use the latest Onedrive sync Mac client available on the Apple store and I want to upload 43 000 files (3,4 Gb) on my OneDrive for business. My mac sync all night and only 1000 files (239 Mb) was upload. It will take a loooong time to do all the files.

Someone can tell me why ?

I'm an IT professional in a college and we have 135 Mbps upload Internet connection.

TechFreak1

May 15, 2013
Visit site
Re: Onedrive sync is very slow on my Mac

Check your connection, are you on Wifi or Ethernet?

If WiFi you may had either a saturated access point as you say your in a college or you have a faulty Wifi module / adapter.

With Ethernet the same maybe true.

Without knowing exactly which mac you are using it would be hard to say what maybe at fault.

Of course there is a chance that something went wrong with the sync client and keep alive time outs.

marichard3

Apr 5, 2016
Visit site

I use an iMac with an ethernet connection and I can't saturated the ethernet access. I'm connected on 1 Gb switch and my computer is the only one working at night (I'm in a college).
Uploading 1000 files (239 Mb) in a night is not normal. Google Drive do it in less than an hour.

TechFreak1

May 15, 2013
Visit site

I use an iMac with an ethernet connection and I can't saturated the ethernet access. I'm connected on 1 Gb switch and my computer is the only one working at night (I'm in a college).
Uploading 1000 files (239 Mb) in a night is not normal. Google Drive do it in less than an hour.

Hmm, sounds like if anything it's the sync client try the onedrive website and if it does the same it is most likely the keep-alive timeouts they set... I tried uploading a large blender project and I did notice speeds start dwindling after awhile. I chalked that down to my dying routers if anything.

marichard3