Connect WP to DV8P

Dave Blake

Mod and Ambassador Team Emeritus
Jan 11, 2008
Visit site
Is there a way to connect my Windows Phone to my DV8P to sync music and pictures? I have found a few Micro USB to USB adapters on Amazon. Will that allow me to connect them?

I just got my DV8P yesterday so I am still learning what this thing can do.

Jas00555

Retired Ambassador
Jun 8, 2013
Visit site
Do you have an SD card? That would probably be the most efficient way to do it. I suppose if you have a micro to micro USB, that could work too.

Although, in theory, everything you have should be backed up in SkyDrive and Xbox music so you wouldn't necessarily need it.

foxbat121

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
You need a USB OTG adapter/cable. Typically, it is one end MicroUSB, the other end normal USB socket. Then you connect your phone via USB cable to that.

Yes, Amazon has a lot of different USB OTG cable/adapters.

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
get an OTG cable and you will be set for practically any USB peripheral under the sun since full Windows can talk to practically anything.

Small limitation I found is that it may not put out enough power for some hard drives, but I think it varies. I charged my 920 from my Venue 8

Noahma

Dec 25, 2012
Visit site
Bluetooth works as well, although slow.

The trick is to get the DV8p to allow the receiving of files. if you go to Desktop after turning on Bluetooth, the status tray (lower right) has a Bluetooth icon, click on that and select the receive or send option and then send it from your phone after pairing. Works pretty well, I use it to send my photos to the tablet while out and about for quick editing.

Dave Blake

Jan 11, 2008
Visit site
Thanks for the information everybody keep it coming. Next question, where can I get an OTG cable? I know amazon has them but I don't use amazon when possible. I would prefer to walk into a store and get it today. RadioShack doesn't have it.

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site