Best GSM WP7? - Prefer T-Mobile

tchaten

Sep 5, 2011
Visit site
Hello - I am brand new to the WP7 world - I'm trying out all of the mobile OSs and I'm intrigued by the OS.

I am kinda confused on the hardware end. What is the best GSM WP7 phone out there? I'd like it to run natively on T-Mobile - AT&T would be fine if the device is that much better on that network.

Is there anything new on the horizon in the near future - when will Mango ship and will it be updated to older hardware like iOS/iPhones?

Thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated - right now considering the HD7 on T-Mobile ...

smartpatrol

Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
Venue Pro Smartphone with Windows 7 Phone

Dell Venue Pro: $299 unlocked. If you buy the phone unlocked, you can save $10/month on T-Mobile's plans. Or else you can order it for $0.99 with a 2-year contract.

I haven't actually held one of these in person because you can only buy them online. But they have 4.1 inch AMOLED displays, Gorilla Glass covering, metal body, and a portrait slide-out keyboard. The build quality and display are supposed to be excellent. The only downsides are that it's heavy and a little on the big side. Also the camera is supposed to be mediocre.

I'm a current HD7 owner. I would've gone with the Venue Pro instead, but they were having lots of issues at the time. Thankfully, all the stability issues have been fixed with the latest firmware update.

HD7 is just okay. The selling points are the huge screen and the fact that it's on T-Mobile. The camera is pretty bad in low-light conditions. Battery life is not very good. The display quality is decent but not amazing. I love the phone, but it's more because of the awesome OS than because of the hardware. The physical hardware isn't bad, but it's hardly exciting.

So if I were in your shoes, I would jump on that Venue Pro in a heartbeat.

palandri

Retired Moderator
Jul 25, 2009
Visit site