Buy now or wait for Apollo?

marcojavier

Nov 2, 2011
Visit site
I'm new here, so please be nice? Haha

I'm an incoming college student who lives in Manila, Philippines, which almost has a non-existent WP scene. There's only ONE WP phone in all the carriers here (HTC Mozart) and while there may be other WPs sold outside the carriers, I don't know how often these get updated, seeing that the penetration of WP here is close to zilch.

Buying phones from carriers isn't really the 'in' thing here. The carriers here release phones MONTHS after they're announced, and at an exorbitant rate at that, so people end up buying phones outside the carriers. Therefore, any phone I buy will be at its "unlocked" price, which I can't even split up into monthly installments. It's a one time big time thing for me when it comes to buying phones. If I buy one now, I'll most prolly stick with it for 2-3+ years. Buying another phone would entail having to shell out another $500 - $600 (in conversion), maybe $450 if I trade in my old phone.

Should I wait for the dual-core WP models running Apollo? I am honestly itching to buy a WP phone right now (BlackBerry just won't cut it anymore) but I don't want to be stuck with a phone that'll make me feel like crap two years later on. But I have to admit that the Microsoft Office will be pretty useful for college, which I'll start in around six months or so.

P.S. If ever I do get one, I have eyes set on the Lumia 800. Gorgeous, sexy beast.

marcojavier

Nov 2, 2011
Visit site
Also, can anyone kindly share their WP experience? Is it really suitable for college students? What drew me to WP is the People Hub and the Microsoft Office. Does the OS really deliver its premise as the OS that can balance productivity and a social life in one phone?

welsbloke

Nov 1, 2011
Visit site