Tell Microsoft: We just want the App Support of WP8

canesfan625

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
The part that really grinds my gears is that fact that all of us wp7 users that have grinded through this slow development of 100,000 apps are now going to lose a lot of support for app development on wp7. I say slow development because though there are 100,000 most of them are crap and we are way behind on a lot of the more "trendier" apps out there in mobile.

This isn't a fact at all. Name one developer that has announced they will not support 7.x

There is 0 reason not to. Porting apps between the two will be trivial.

rsuter

May 25, 2011
Visit site
I'm a developer with 8 apps in marketplace. I think as soon as I have got a WP8 device I will start migrating all apps to the new (better) Win RT framework... I tried out WinRT for Win8 and there are a lot small but significant differences between WP7 Silverlight and WinRT. It won't be that simple to port apps (forward and backward)... If I have to maintain two versions of each app, I think I will completely abandon WP7 and only release bug fix updates and concentrate on WP8 developement for feature updates... And this is why I'm disappointed in Microsoft's decision: I think a lot of developers will do the same... The only solution is that compiling a WP8 app will automatically generate a WP7 app if it doesn't need special API's/hardware.

Last edited:

AngryNil

Mar 3, 2012
Visit site
It's been one day and the guy from Kansas with 7 posts has already decided WP7 won't get app support. I have never seen this level of overreaction on these forums. This is getting tiresome for some of us.