Guide for getting a new Phone from AT&T

jwckauman

Sep 22, 2012
Visit site
I'm new at this. I've had a Windows 7 Phone (Samsung Focus) from AT&T. My contract expires in Jan 2013. My thinking is that I want to get the new Nokia 920 as soon as it is released. With that, what are my chances of being able to find an AT&T reseller who will
  1. Renew my contract for another 2 years
  2. Upgrade my focus to the Nokia 920 Cyan for no charge (or very minimal like $1 or $19)
  3. Waive the upgrade fee ($38)
  4. Get the phone to me on the first available date possible

If that is indeed possible, can anyone help me figure out the way to go about this? I have a friend who swears up and down he has never had to pay for a new phone, nor an upgrade fee, as long as he renews his contract.

Thanks!
jwckauman

power5

Oct 10, 2011
Visit site
2 is possible if you wait for a penny sale or dollar sale like last year right after thanksgiving. I got my Titan for $0.01 as my upgrade.

jwckauman

Sep 22, 2012
Visit site
Thanks. Do the penny or dollar sells happen at launch, or do you have to be patient and wait? If I can't be patient, what do you think I'll have to pay for a Nokia 920 with a new two-year contract on day one?

aubreyq

Dec 4, 2010
Visit site
Penny/dollar sales are rare for brand-new phones, but they DO happen. There's not telling what vendors will do sometimes.

Number 3 (avoiding an upgrade fee) should be fairly simple if you let your contract expire. Before that, maybe yes, maybe no. I've seen offers that waive the upgrade fee. You can simply ask if they are willing to waive it. Sometimes they look at your customer record and let it slide. Also, are you a Premier member? That helps as well, but not for getting a phone like the 920 for a penny/dollar or anything like that.

Best thing to do is wait until your contract expires, unless a penny/dollar deal comes up before.

chriscookz

Oct 2, 2012
Visit site