WP8 Privacy Nightmare?

SoloXCRacer

Apr 5, 2012
Visit site
I was going to post something similar, but hopmedic beat me to it. He nailed it.

As a developer, I think I can speak directly to this issue. Depending on which services are being requested, it can be many things. Sometimes locations are requested because of the advertisements - to give the advertisers locations will give more directed ads, and the developers will be paid a higher rate (measured in "cents per thousand impressions"). Sometimes the media is needed for sounds in a game, the camera is needed for bar code reading, or if the app is one where you can take a picture, or even to modify a photo (Pictures Lab, etc.). Sometimes the phone identity is used in order to track statistics (I have done this, just to get how many unique users of my apps) - without phone identity, you don't know if a repeat instance of your app is the same user using the app again, or a different user. Sometimes User identity (or is it Owner Identity? - I don't remember exactly) is used for reasons of tracking purchases - say for instance you have subscription content or something, maybe you had in-app purchase, or maybe you're participating in something where your identity does matter. These are all valid reasons to use these services.

Now that we've covered valid, let me also say this... When you create a project in Windows Phone, the WMappManifest.xml file, which is where all of the capabilities are enabled/listed, by default, has all of the capabilities enabled. So, if a developer is lazy, forgetful, or doesn't know he needs to remove the unneeded capabilities from this file, then when they submit it to the store, it will list these capabilities, whether they are used or not.