Chose wrong language when updating to WP7.8

bor42

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
Hi guys. I just used this tool: New tool helps make installing the Windows Phone 7.8 update slightly easier | Windows Phone Central to update to 7.8 my Trophy. As it happens I chose GB English instead of USA English that was preinstalled. So now my phone crashes at certain settings/apps, if I choose other language in settings (let's say German) it works flawlessly. I already tried running that tool again and it wouldn't let me reinstall 7.8. Now before trying anything else I'd like to ask you for your opinion on how to solve this problem, I can live with German for a few days but I'm not very good at it and it started to annoy me :)

jchapman01

Apr 16, 2011
Visit site
I'm having the same issue on my Titan. Now I can't install anyother languages. I always get install failed. Did you come up with a fix?

bor42

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
So I tried restoring my phone to a state before using Seven Eighter. Unfortunately ZUNE only preserves the latest backup (if that's not so please correct me). I was originally at 7720 so my restore point is already "flawed" (I think it's Tango). I tried installing the US English or US and UK English and it fails both times. The only thing I can do is to continue installing it with UK English and keep my phone half working.
Now my next step will be to try and install 7.8 using cab method and I'll see if I'll still see the error. What makes me wonder is StellBullet's comment, isn't there only one Italian available? If that's so it's not connected to the language choice but the problem is somewhere else. I'm thinking of hard reseting the phone and seeing what happens, it's just that I wanted to avoid loosing my data.