Best Windows 8 Apps

Muessig

Moderator Team Leader
Sep 30, 2012
Visit site
I'm fairly new to Windows 8 on the PC/Tablet but I'm surprised to see we don't already have a thread like this here. List your favourite/most useful apps you've found on the Windows 8 App Store (for the PC/Tablet) and what it's used for and let's see if we can't find some new gems!

My list so far:

News: Sky News (I like the ability to filter the subject I receive news for).
Xbox Music: Sure it takes up more resources than Windows Media Player and I don't use it all the time, but I like the way the app works from being able to see and buy new music to the pictures you can get popping up through playing your own music that makes playing music a bit of a nicer experience.
TuneIn A Podcast/Radio streaming app you can get on a Windows Phone too, really easy to use and it just works. Brilliant.
Bing My Lockscreen: Awesome app that replaces your lockscreen image. You can set how often it changes the image, whether it does it automatically and so on. I like having a surprise every time I turn on my computer and seeing a new image.
Netflix: Streaming TV shows and Movies couldn't be simpler. This app works well and does exactly what it says on the tin.

Those are just a few of my picks, what apps can you just not live without on Windows 8?

Last edited:

revisionzero

May 30, 2012
Visit site

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
  • YouTube Downloader (save YouTube video or save as MP3)
  • News Bento (RSS feed reader)
  • Tweetro+
  • TuneInRadio
  • Appy Geek (tech RSS feed reader)
  • Fhotoroom
  • File Browser (view and manage files in Metro without opening desktop)

gsquared

Jun 26, 2011
Visit site
Word. Excel. I've seen nothing else here that even constitutes as an "App". They are entertainment outlets.

I use Word and Excel to put bread on my table.

Last edited:

eldeenmaan

Dec 7, 2012
Visit site