Android to WP8 switching for office and travel needs

searchit

Apr 27, 2013
Visit site
Hi
I have never used a windwos phone device before but I wanna try one now. None of the people I know use a wp8. I just wanna know answers to some of the questions I have before I buy a new phone.

Q1. In an android phone all my contacts are backed up on my Gmail ID which are automatically downloaded to any android phone I use.

Will t happen the same way with wp8 or not?

Q2. I use MS office outlook on my laptop and save all my contacts in there first. Then I use, e.g., samsung kies to sync my outlook contacts.

Will I be able to sync my office outlook contacts the same way with wp8 as well?

Will it be as easy to sync as an android phone?

Q3. I read all of my emails on my phone because mostly I am out of the office. Now I am already used to galaxy s3 email client. That client shows me embedded excel sheets perfectly which i can also scroll & zoom in/out easily.

will I have same experience in wp8 too?

Q4. I travel frequently and I am in love with Google maps. I read somewhere that google maps dont work in wp8. Is it true?

Q5. I have my own 16GB micro sd card and on that I ahev my fav audio and video music. Will it be easy to just attach a wp8 to my laptop and transfer files via browser without the need of any intermediary app...?

Q6. Will I have to create a new MSN ID to be able to use a wp8 device?

I don't really care about other apps and games as everything is pretty much useless for me. I use skype/viber/whatsapp when I am abroad and that's pretty much it.

Please help!
:smile:

Vaibhav Chauhan

Jan 6, 2013
Visit site
1 & 2. Your contacts on outlook/hotmail/live account will be synchronised and automatically backed up once you log in with your account in the device.
3. I haven't used android/other mobile email clients but my WP8 experience is great, i use my laptop only when i need to take printouts of attachments.