Great apps and stupid reviews

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site
I'm not a developer but I think something should be done to allow developers to erase what can only be called spam reviews. There's nothing wrong with legitimate reviews but there are some reviews that are on some really great apps that seem to be there for one purpose only and that?s to bring the rating down. Another system would be to allow users to mark reviews as spam and then get deleted by a bot.

I?m not certain of what happens on other platforms to combat this issue but I think marking as spam and then having it deleted seems fair if it?s proven that the review adds nothing to improvement of the app.

Now I know that the terminology of stupid may offend some people but I have to say I?m tired of seeing these same types of reviews over and over again that saying they are stupid fits.

Here are some examples:

1 Star Review on BBC iPlayer - Does not work outside the UK for copyright and capacity reasons. Come on BBC! Can't afford some more VM's? Anyway, I can get Live TV stream on any Windows 8 box so what is this legal limitation?

This person is obviously ignorant of the fact that the BBC is a company support by UK tax payers. Their programs are copyrighted to the UK. This is no different than me trying to watch a copyrighted program on a US TV channel or any other country for that matter without finding an illegal bypass. Sorry the BBC is not going to provide you with ?free? viewing of their copyrighted material in their app if you live outside the UK.

To be blunt, this review deserves to be deleted.

1 Star Review on Camera360 - Its called camera 360 yet it doesn't have a panarama setting stuff you 1*