Is the people hub still pertinent?

dlalonde

Apr 16, 2013
Visit site
Now don't take this as a sarcasm or a troll. It's an actual question in case I'm missing something.

With the release of quite effective and interesting apps for Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn, what is the point of the People Hub now? It lacks several functionnalities and hasn't been updated in a long time, is a little messy and confusing when looking at both Twitter and Facebook at the same time in the "What's New" section, etc.

I'm the kind of user that will try to make the most out of built-in apps or software before going for a third-party. I've been using the People Hub for 2 months now and, although I like the fact that I can easily share on both Facebook and Twitter at the same time, I see myself logging into the mobile websites a lot to get some functionnalities that I think should already be in there. Delete or like a comment for instance.

So now that we have those official apps, is the People Hub still pertinent?

ohgood

Aug 20, 2011
Visit site
First question, do you know what the people hub is for?

well, if users prefer stand alone apps to a hub, it doesn't matter what the peoplehub is for.

that point is being made by thread after thread asking for better facebook and similar official apps, instead of asking for features in the hub.

to answer the op's question, no, in app centric smartphone worlds, its not

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site
I think it just comes down to how you use it.

I only have Facebook on my feed so it's simple. The idea behind People is to be able to look at recent news and particular contacts. It sort of acts like a notification centre more than anything else and I guess if you have lots of feeds going in it can get messy. I would recommend filtering so that you get only the information you want. But I agree wholly with you that it needs a serious update to add the functionality otherwise it is sort of pointless.

dlalonde

Apr 16, 2013
Visit site