Music collection is messed up - Please explain.

berklon

Jun 17, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to WP8, but I'm having issues with my music collection.

My MP3 collection is very organized... ID tags are filled out, cover art always attached... very neat and methodical.

I don't do anything fancy... I simply copy over my music folders (1 album per folder) to my micro-SD card. I like to keep things simple.
I don't use the cloud, and I've turned the xbox cloud setting off before I did anything. I do have the "Connect with xbox music" just so I can get the artist background images.

Some CDs I add a little extra info to the Album title in my ID Tag... ie:

Norah Jones' CD "The Fall" album title I have set as "The Fall (SACD)" to indicate that it's ripped from my hybrid SACD/CD instead of regular CD. I do this for many albums.

Well I have 2 "copies" of this CD in my album collection on WP8 (as well as multiple copies of others). "The Fall" and "The Fall (SACD)".
And to make matters worse, not all the songs are in both Albums... some in one, and the rest in the other. This is happening to a lot of my CDs.

It's just a big mess.

Why is this happening? Is it because I have "Connect with xbox music" enabled?

Is there a way to just have it use why I've copied over, while it automatically assign artist backgrounds - all the while NOT touching any of my collection?

travis_valkyrie

Jan 3, 2012
Visit site
You got that right. First, I would advise that you reformat your sd card and re-add the songs, as Xbox Music already has replaced the tags on these files from Xbox Music server. Then turn off all settings in music+videos, and put your sd card back in. Although you won't get fancy stuff like artist backgrounds and smartDJ.