External Storage (MicroSD) versus Windows Phone 8 OS

Mike Damone

Aug 10, 2013
Visit site
Greetings, I'm very new to Windows Phone, and could really use some guidance regarding storage options.

Given that my Lumia 820 only has 8 gigs of internal storage, I would like to direct as much as possible to be saved on the external storage (16 gig MicroSD card).

However, I can see that WP has some restrictions/limitations on managing the external space. For example, no built in disk management, correct? All things considered this is not a problem for me. All I want to know is, what are ALL the things I can direct the phone to store on the SD card instead of on the phone itself, and how do I go about it.

Ideally I would like to store as much as possible on the card, and leave the limited internal storage available for things that cannot be moved to the SD.

Thanks! :amaze:

Ps. Is there some nice app to browse these forums straight from my new phone?

mase123987

Mar 1, 2012
Visit site
the WPCentral app is the best to use to see the forums and all the stories.

You can put pictures, videos and maps I believe. Not a hundred percent sure...920 doesn't have a microsd slot!

Mike Damone

Aug 10, 2013
Visit site
I see, so just pics, video, and maps? What about music, and app data such as saved games, settings, in-app documents/files, etc.
I hope someone using external storage can chime in on this. Thanks :)

Quhi

Jun 1, 2013
Visit site
I'm sure that videos, pictures, maps and music can be stored on the sd card. Apps are only installed in the internal memory. I don't know about documents though.

Manu Tyagi

Apr 30, 2013
Visit site
Hi there Mike..like you m also using 820, u can have music,videos,photos,maps on your card, other than that app and app related all data are saved on phone memory.
Mail data also on phone..temporary files on phone memory..
hope this helps you...

Mike Damone

Aug 10, 2013
Visit site