MS Account: what's the difference between Hotmail and Outlook?

Hoku001

Sep 18, 2013
Visit site
I've been using WP since 2010 - but with my Lumia 920 and WP8, the Microsoft Account I used to setup the phone, and the "email and accounts" under settings is mysterious. Maybe someone can enlighten me.

For the past 3 years, I've been using xxxx@live.com as my primary account on my phone. On WP8, when I setup this account info on my phone for the first time, it creates an "Outlook" account under "email and accounts":
For example:
outlooksettings.jpg

But, if I create a "Hotmail" account using the same xxxx@live.com account, it shows my a screen that looks like this:
hotmailsettings.jpg

The exact same account, but yet Hotmail shows me the option to sync Email, Calendar, Contacts, To dos - whereas the Outlook account only shows Email.

Can someone explain to me why this is?

Also, for some reason, my Outlook account (which is primary account created when I first setup the phone) often fails to sync...sometimes it's okay, but other times I get the 86000C0A error code and it says unable to sync. Keep in mind this is the same email address and password, and the same server (bay-m.hotmail.com) as the Hotmail account on my phone. I've put the Hotmail tile on my phone's home page, since it seems to always work ...and I've relegated the Outlook tile to the app list (the phone won't allow me to delete it).

Not a show stopper, but why is it like this?

montsa007

Ambassador
Apr 10, 2013
Visit site
I feel, because you setup the basic account first it won't give you many options as compared to an additional account which has options like sync contacts etc.,

Are you on GDR 2?, maybe a bug in GDR 2

Hoku001

Sep 18, 2013
Visit site