Stuck on version 8.0.10211.204 (Portico)

Draganta

Oct 15, 2013
Visit site
Hey there! Very unfortunate that my first post here is a cry for help, but here it goes :(

I have a HTC 8X, and my phone is stuck on WP version 8.0.10211.204, the Portico update. I don't receive any other updates. I am a developer, so I tried the GDR3 update for developers, but it says that my phone is not up-to-date. When I go to updates, it says it is up-to-date. What can I do?

My device:
HTC 8X Vodafone branded (from Germany)
I have a Dutch Vodafone simcard in it (I live in The Netherlands, not Germany, but the phone comes from Germany).

wp_ss.jpg

What I think the problem is: I don't receive carrier updates because I don't have a German vodafone simcard in it. Could this be correct? Any advice on how to receive new updates? I don't want to flash it with a bootloader (unless there are no options left). I don't have warranty, as I have bought the phone used (I am moving to United States for a half year, and I don't want to be stuck on a contract, so I 'scored' a used 8X).

Thanks!

Last edited:

Draganta

Oct 15, 2013
Visit site
That is possible yes, but isn't there another update between GDR2 and Portico? Correct me if i'm wrong!

Edit: GDR2 is 8.0.10327.77 so there should be another update in between, the one that is required for the GDR3 developer update.

qudahamohammad

Jul 19, 2013
Visit site
I have the same problem but the difference is, I bought Windows Phone 8 in Jordan and placed a Jordanian SIM card in it and I'm not receiving updates :)

Draganta

Oct 15, 2013
Visit site
I have the same problem but the difference is, I bought Windows Phone 8 in Jordan and placed a Jordanian SIM card in it and I'm not receiving updates :)

Hmm, strange. That could mean that it doesn't have anything to do with the simcard, we just have to wait for the carrier to push out the update, OR flash a stock HTC rom on it. i don't want to flash anything though :( Any other options are welcome.