Article: PC makers plan rebellion against Windows at 2014 CES, analysts say

Reflexx

Dec 30, 2010
Visit site
I don't really see how WinPRT would be a better choice then WinRT. Then again, I'm not a developer.

Isn't WinRT more robust? It has more links to Win8 API's, doesn't it? If anything, I see WinRT and WinPRT being unified... but with WinRT being the base that the new phone OS will be based off of. It seems like it would be easier to add phone related capability to WinRT then it would be to add all the Windows stuff to WinPRT.

And what negatives do you associate with M#? Wouldn't that be a positive if implemented? It seems to me that being able to code in what is basically C#, but with more direct access and power would be good.

Mike Gibson

Apr 17, 2013
Visit site
Isn't WinRT more robust? It has more links to Win8 API's, doesn't it? If anything, I see WinRT and WinPRT being unified... but with WinRT being the base that the new phone OS will be based off of. It seems like it would be easier to add phone related capability to WinRT then it would be to add all the Windows stuff to WinPRT.
Yes, WinRT is a better, more complete implementation of the RT concept. However, the new head of Windows, Terry Myerson, was in charge of Windows Phone so it's pretty obvious where his bias lies.

And what negatives do you associate with M#? Wouldn't that be a positive if implemented? It seems to me that being able to code in what is basically C#, but with more direct access and power would be good.
C# is not a systems language. Read the blog post by the guy working on it. He describes all the problems making it work in a systems context. Regardless, all it would do is create yet another new and completely different API for ISVs and IHVs to deal with (which they won't). Core OS APIs need to be simple ... just a way to move bytes into and out of the OS, like they are in the Win32 API. Language-specific frameworks can run on top of that core OS.

chinesepiratefood

Mar 7, 2013