How do you use apps on mulitple Windows phones?

omegatek

Jan 2, 2014
Visit site
Hello,

I'm coming from iOS and Android phones so I'm pretty new to Windows phone.
I recently bought 4 Nokia Lumia 521's
1 for me, 1 for my wife and 2 for the teens.

When we used our Android phones, anytime I made a Google Play purchase, I could share it with our family. We each had our own gmail account, but we all shared 1 gmail account for any google play purchases.

I can't figure out how to do the same with these Windows Phones. I don't want to pay 4 times for the same app to be on all our phones.

Any advice on how to set these phones up is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Paul May

Lumia 950 & Surface Pro Champion
Nov 8, 2012
Visit site
There is no way to do this on WP really except to use the same MS email account as the main account on all the phones. It is technically against the terms of service to use one MS account on multiple phones. Each device is meant to buy its own apps. There are issues with using the same MS account on all the phones, mainly being the sms and contact backup, all texts that are sent and received are backs up and then synced to all phones, so your child sends a text to a friend, it backs up to the server and syncs to all other devices.

EDIT: Technically this is also not supposed to happen on the other OS's you mentioned because it is also against their terms of service too.

omegatek

Jan 2, 2014
Visit site
Shoot... guess I'll have to see how this experiment with Windows Phones goes.
If it becomes too costly, I'll have to switch back to Android. That would be unfortunate, cause I'm really liking the platform so far.

Ashish Saraf1

May 7, 2013
Visit site
Hello,

I'm coming from iOS and Android phones so I'm pretty new to Windows phone.
I recently bought 4 Nokia Lumia 521's
1 for me, 1 for my wife and 2 for the teens.