First impressions: needs some work

nickdu

Jan 22, 2014
Visit site
I'm new to the windows phone. So far my only smartphone up until I purchased a nokia 520 was the iphone 4. I wanted to give the windows phone a try as my iphone is getting old and I think apple might be slipping a bit since they lost Steve Jobs. Plus I heard nokia makes really good phones. I also upgraded my son's iphone4 on Verizon to the nokia 928, very nice looking phone. I'll probably switch to the 928 in the next week or two unless I decide to wait to see if the 929 comes out soon.

So far the phone seems pretty good. The windows 8 ui also looks good and is intuitive. There are a couple things that I've noticed that make me think that there's quite a bit more work to do. Maybe that's wording it wrong. Maybe these things just point to an OS still in its infancy, though you would think it would be a lot farther along since there's been a windows phone OS for some time now.

1. The first thing that drove me nuts when I started using the phone (which I mentioned in a different post), was that someone seemed to forget to add a simple way to create and edit music playlists. I was able to get it done, but that was after watching a youtube video and then several attempts and repeating that process on the phone. You would think just about everyone who has the phone might be planning to use it to listen to music and might want to organize their music with playlists. Kind of hard to believe they forgot that one. Did they not use these phones for months before selling them to the public?