My thoughts on WP 8.1 and how MS should proceed.

RadioActive199

Aug 22, 2013
Visit site
I haven't had the time to read the whole thread here, but I have been a windows phone user since a year and half and here are my thoughts:

I have been a Apple fan since the beginning, I still am (don't start hating, read on). I am a developer for both Android and iOS, Imma a huge mobile - geek. Which means, I follow all the kinds of news, updates and stuff like that. I am also into Jailbreaking, rooting etc (not for illegal purposes but for the tweaks).

As I said, I have been a windows phone user for a year and a half now, and the only reason I bought a Lumia 720 was because well, it was in my budget and I didn't have a windows phone device in. With a windows phone device, I now have 3 iOS devices, 4 Android and 1 Windows Phone.

I was impressed by MS's new creative OS, and i really feel for the animations :p :p But I really love the OS and would give up all my android devices for a really nice windows phone. With the 8.1 update, I really think MS is heading in the right direction and I was really impressed with the new updates they have introduced. I really can't wait to get my hands on the dev preview. From what I hear, and I am still confused about this, is that I won't be able to Cortana because I live in India? Seems really disappointing if that's the case. But nevertheless, I'm sure with Satya Nadella now heading MS, WP will be able to take on Apple and Android by the time 8.3 or so hits the shelfs.

The only thing MS needs to take care of this to keep supporting older devices and to push out updates ASAP. I thing I really love about apple is that their updates don't have to go through the painful OEM process. Which means people get the update as soon as they are released.