Developer Preview 8.1 Bugs and Defects Thread

DavidinCT

Feb 18, 2011
Visit site
So my HTC 8X got this while updating to the newest 8.1 version...

View attachment 69031

Was stuck on 0% for an hour, then I decided to do a reboot. Update installing now... installed
Weird, never seen any error screens like that.
And why does it call my phone a PC??

Sorry for your issues but, cool a blue screen of death screen shot on Windows phone.... :)

I'm a Windows Systems admin...Trust me, I know bluescreens but, never saw a Windows Phone one...

hotphil

Nov 14, 2008
Visit site
So to summarise nearly 100 pages:
WiFi - broken, won't connect to known-good hotspots.
Personal hotspot - broken. doesn't work.
Xbox Music - barely usable. Too many issues to list.
Random reboots - new feature.
Overheating - new feature.
Crazy battery drain - new feature.
Cortana - region-specific. So unknown for anyone outside the US really.
Quiet hours - removed unless you get Cortana.
Headset - some issues.
App issues - lots of folk installed the Dev Preview and are confused between app and OS "bugs". Even the first page of this thread lists "bugs" that aren't really.
Backups - broken.

DJWhiteSquall

Jan 16, 2013
Visit site
I'm on my phone and have gone thru a ton of pages on this thread, so please forgive me if this dead horse has already been beaten....

Since the update, all my Twitter accounts were unlinked from their Outlook counterparts and vanished from my 1020. I can still see them linked in the Windows 8.1 People hub. The accounts that weren't linked aren't missing. However, if I link them via Windows 8, they leave my phone. If I link them on the phone, they stay.

And here's the kicker. I unlimked then unfollowed several twitter profiles. Waited a day, then re-followed them. The accounts that had vanished earlier are still missing!! Yet again, they are on my Windows 8.1 People hub.