How do notifications pop when screen is locked?

unger123

May 24, 2014
Visit site
Hi !
I'm new to WP. Currently with galaxy s4 active.

I've been a long time Nokia user with my nokia 701 that worked very well. To this day, I still believe nokia lost many great basic features with the moving from symbian which I hope they catch up quickly like calling from any screen at a click on the green button, close apps with red button or hang up calls from any screen with just one click on red button. And many more . Oh well .
One thing that in its latest version, symbian managed to bring up to date, well kinda - is what happens when there's a notification when screen is locked, like SMS. Which really is probably the thing that happens the most.
For example, receiving an SMS when locked, the screen would often (but oddly not always) show the lockscreen with the notification. Thanks to feature pack 2, sliding the sms aside would show you the message and allow you to reply. Meaning, receiving a text would require almost zero action from you to read it. Just slide. Sadly, it didn't always light up but pressing the menu button to light the screen up was quick enough. And your privacy was also kept in case your device was held by someone else, unlike in iPhone where the message itself is shown.

I wonder, how is it with Windows Phone 8 ?
And with 8.1 ?

Does receiving an sms with each os allow you to:
A) see it and with a slide / other actions go to full conversation.
B) the phone alerts with sound and YOU have to unlock it and access the sms ?

And what happens with whatsapp messages? I use them much more than SMS.

Thanks !!

Posted via Windows Phone Central App

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site