No Sound From Alarms

Mr Egg

Jul 10, 2014
Visit site
Hey guys, I've been using the standard Alarm app on my WP8 for the past 20 months without any problems. Roughly a week ago, my phone began randomly muting the alarm sound, causing me to be late for work and nearly fired. This morning it happened again, only I was already awake and able to see the whole process. The alarm activates and triggers a "snooze/dismiss" popup, however the alarms are completely silent regardless of the phone volume. I repeatedly tested and reproduced the same issue. In fact, the only way to fix it is to reboot the phone.

Can anyone give me an explanation or a fix for this? I can't afford to be late for work again, so I guess I can't use this Windows Phone for an alarm until further notice. Even if it only happens 1 out of 50 times, that's still a failure and could cost me my job.

HTC 8X (HTC6990LVW)
OS Version: 8.0.10501.127
Firmware: 3030.0.42201.605

steppyhen

Dec 17, 2012
Visit site
Is the phone vibrating when the alarm goes off, or is there nothing at all?

My first thoughts are to check the 'sound' in Alarm settings isn't set to just 'vibrate only' (unless you've already checked this).

Have you tried a soft reset of the device?

EDIT: Thought I'd ask as well if you've tried a different alarm tone?

Last edited:

Mr Egg

Jul 10, 2014
Visit site
The phone is also not vibrating, even though it is set to vibrate. I tried creating multiple new alarms, brought the volume all the way down and back up, tested that other things made sound, etc. The alarms all trigger, but have no sound or vibration. My two original wake alarms use different tones, but I created all the new ones with the same tone.

ratsttam

Jun 5, 2013
Visit site