As a developer, the McLaren news is even more chilling.

Kevin N Smith

Mar 12, 2013
Visit site
EDIT: As there is obviously sufficient demand at least at this time, I will continue updating apps, such as Atmosphere, which will be getting a major update, and pushing WP forward, more so with my latest project, Lifeline (Read about it here). However, I will be porting all relevant current and future projects to Android in the future. Note that this is not the entire reason behind the creation of this thread - Which was to discuss the future of the platform - and that the discussion may continue.

I am an Application developer who has always had faith in Windows Phone and kept all of my apps exclusive to this platform. I have released apps like Atmosphere, which has been featured here on WPCentral and the Windows Store multiple times and receives over 10,000 downloads every two weeks. In the past, I have released apps that patched holes in WP such as Speech, which was essentially "Cortana before Cortana". The point is, I am extremely loyal to the WP8 platform and have developed for it even during the darkest times when every other developer was porting to android and iOS. The McLaren news, coupled with the latest news about layoffs of software teams, cancellation of feature phones that paved the way for new smartphone users to adopt WP8, among other things, sends one single, chilling message about the future of windows phone - that the future simply does not exist.

Windows Phone is struggling with marketshare now - when people were hyped and excited for features like Cortana, 8.1, and the MCLaren. This is the time when windows phone should be flourishing. But it isn't. Now, following this news, I can't even begin to imagine the fallout. Initial comments are reporting that people are quitting windows phone en masse, people who follow this website, and the ONLY people that follow this website are loyal WP8.1 users.