How well does backup & restore work?

mj0

Oct 10, 2014
Visit site
I'm currently on a Lumia 635 and will be getting a Lumia 830 in a couple of days (in theory tomorrow but won't be able to pick it up until next monday). I've been using the 635 for a bit over three months now and have it all set up - my mail accounts, my apps, my settings. Coming from iOS I'm used to having everything restored when moving from one iPhone to another, does Windows Phone backup also work this way? I've enabled backup in settings but under "manage backups" I can see it only used a bit less than 10MB - that can't be right, can it?

I really don't want to set everything up again from scratch - ideal scenario for me would be to make a final backup of my 635 as soon as the 830 arrives, then take out the ?SD-Card, put it into the 830, power it on and restore that phone to the exact state my 635 was in.

Is that possible with Microsoft's built-in backup solution or does it require third party software?

worldspy99

Nov 10, 2013
Visit site
Really well! Just set up my Lumia 521 in about 45 minutes and it is mirroring my Lumia 810. You will need to re-layout all your tiles. So best to take a few screenshots before you do backup and restore. I look at my old screenshot and then create an identical one. The restore will bring back your original background image. Pretty cool, IMO. Better than Android for sure....

mj0

Oct 10, 2014
Visit site
Where is that setting? I can only choose between apps+settings, text messages and photos+videos. Neither of these mentions home screen or tiles.

eusty

Jun 1, 2014
Visit site
I just does!! The restore process is actually rather good, but it uses Onedrive rather than SD cards.

One thing to remember is to check the firmware versions are the same or similar. If not it will restore but some 'new' features will be incorrect.