I'm officiallly DONE with Metro IE on Surface 2

anon(5348756)

Sep 28, 2012
Visit site
I've been using Metro IE for the past 2 years, first in my Surface RT and for the past 6 months on my Surface 2. I'm giving up. I get constant crashes, page reloads, controls - within websites - not working properly or at all, freezes, unresponsiveness...

I can't deal with this anymore. Just last week I changed the default to desktop IE 11 and couldn't be happier. Of course I lose all the touch convenience, but it's just so worth it. While it's not working perfectly, it's certainly a big improvement over the metro version: controls actually work - albeit a bit slowly - pages are kept in memory so they don't reload, I still have to see a crash (I'm sure that'll happen at some point)... so while not great, it's certainly better.

I'm looking forward to getting, hopefully, the Win10 January tech preview on 1/21 on RT devices. The previous tech previews made IE work notably better on my desktop, so if we can expect anything similar on RT devices, I'm all for beta testing!

I was wondering if any of you have had similar problems with IE and if you're looking forward to the W10 JTP?

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Weird, in my time with a Surface RT, Metro IE was very solid, albeit held back by the mediocre-at-best hardware specs.

Although with the Pro 2 I use now, I just stick in desktop IE.

squelcher

Dec 27, 2014
Visit site
I've been noticing the back arrow takes longer to load a page than visiting a page for the first time - do they really not keep anything in memory?
But apart from that Metro seems ok (new user on S2) - but I'd much rather have Firefox or Chrome and be able to inatall ad blockers - I'd forgotten how hideous the general internet can be.

E Lizzle

Nov 26, 2012
Visit site
I've been noticing the back arrow takes longer to load a page than visiting a page for the first time - do they really not keep anything in memory?