03-14-2017 02:22 AM
61 123
tools
    They make their money on selling the data to the highest bidder. That's their entire income base right there. They don't state what data are being sold and to who.

The Chrome browser is a big security hole, and so will ChromeOS when/if it ever catches on outside of a niche market. The first holes in ChromeOS was found 6 years ago... And when it gets interesting, there will be a lot more. Google isn't very good when it comes to securing their systems.
    I'm not convinced that's true, but I admit I'm no expert.
    I believe what Google does is collect information on you based on your browsing and then send targeted ads to you depending on your interests. So if I'm selling something, I'm not buying your information from Google, but getting people to click on my ad and hopefully buy something. I never see anything about you unless you buy. Google would be foolish to sell your information because they make more this way.
    Again, I could be wrong but it's the way I understand it.

Sent from my Alcatel Idol 4S
    fatclue_98 and Laura Knotek like this.
    02-22-2017 07:44 PM
    Just curious, but why are you trying so hard to convince everyone here that a CB is all anyone needs? If it works for you, that is great, but reading through this thread, it sounds way too much like a sales pitch, JMT.
    Not trying to sell anyone on anything, just sharing my experience.

They make their money on selling the data to the highest bidder. That's their entire income base right there. They don't state what data are being sold and to who.

The Chrome browser is a big security hole, and so will ChromeOS when/if it ever catches on outside of a niche market. The first holes in ChromeOS was found 6 years ago... And when it gets interesting, there will be a lot more. Google isn't very good when it comes to securing their systems.