Brand new to Steam--What are some good games?

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
I decided to create a Steam account and try out some games. I'm brand new to Steam and don't know anything about its games at all.

I haven't installed a single game yet at this point.

What are some games that you'd recommend for someone brand new to Steam? Please describe the games and let me know why you like them.

kbilly70

Nov 5, 2012
Visit site
What are your favorite genres of games? I play pretty much everything but lean towards action/rpg.

Action/Hack n Slash: Torchlight II is really good. Its kind of a Diablo II/III clone with more cartoony graphics. Path of Exile is another decent Diablo clone.

Action: the Batman Arkham series. Great visuals and good story and action.

First person shooter: Call of Duty series, Battlefield series, Borderlands 2, Fallout series.

Zombie action: Left for Dead series.

Strategy: Sid Meiers Civilization series. Turn based empire building.

RPG: Skyrim, Oblivion, Morrowind, Dragon Age. All great fantasy based rpgs.

There are a TON of small name games. Read the feedback and you can really find some gems.

The best thing are the crazy sales that Steam runs. During the Steam summer sale I got the Id pack - 22 games for $80. Check back each day and make sure if you want a game to add it to your wish list. You will then receive a notification when it goes on sale.

Have fun!

wapoz

Sep 29, 2013
Visit site
I don't think I'd like a Barbie game.

lol. On topic: My personal faves are Terraria and Torchlight 2. I purchased Terraria a few years back for $9 and I've gotten countless hours of entertainment out of it. It usually goes on sale for around $2.00 now. It's even better if you make your friends purchase it too for multi player.

Keith Wallace

Nov 8, 2012
Visit site
As was mentioned, what kinds of games do you like?