Why Im thinking of getting iPhone and wait until WP is more developed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

scubus

Jan 6, 2013
Visit site
Yes, it is a work around, but, my major issue is that apps will close automatically if there to many apps open. I think limit is 9 tasks so if you open 10th, 1st one will be close automatically.

Well, you did say there was no way to manually close them in your original post.

There is always going to be some limit to the number of apps you can have running simultaniously, regarless of platform. Any device has a finite amount of memory space. It appears based on what I have read in the forums here, that WP8 has a hard coded limit of 8 or 9 apps open at once. This may change to a more dynamically set limit as the OS matures and be based on not only RAM but the ability to memory swap with the permenant storage. Or maybe not.

You actually want apps to close automatically, otherwise your device will slow to a crawl and eventually just freeze as it runs out of memory.

Apoc

Jun 29, 2011
Visit site
Yes, it is a work around, but, my major issue is that apps will close automatically if there to many apps open. I think limit is 9 tasks so if you open 10th, 1st one will be close automatically.

Just wondering, how many apps do you like to have open, running in the background?

You have some valid points and can understand if someone is not completely happy, then they should have several options to choose from.

Purge_GT

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
25 Windows Phone 8 tips | Reviews | CNET UK

7. Saving battery
Under settings is a 'battery saver' option. When it's switched on, you'll get more hours of battery life, but keep in mind you'll need to manually check for new emails, and apps will no longer run in the background. At the bottom is a summary of how much battery life you have left, assuming you don't suddenly start streaming cat videos on loop.