Bend it like iPhone

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhapdog

Retired Senior Ambassador
Aug 26, 2014
Visit site
a5cent is right on this one. Although I'm not an engineer, I do have multiple degrees and have worked along side engineers for several years in doing metallurgical analysis. According to an Apple spokesperson, the aluminum used in the new iPhone is a custom grade. That means it isn't a standard, off the shelf grade, it's been specifically formulated and treated for the iPhone. It's an anodized aluminum that is tempered for extra strength, and the phone has stainless steel and titanium inserts for added strength.

It's not Apple's fault that the less than one in a million iPhones got bent. They took special care in the design, which is what they are good at, and why they sell so many phones.

I still my Lumia over an iPhone any day, but that's because I prefer the Windows Phone operating system over the iOS, and I prefer Cortana (which I use quite heavily) over Siri.

You know, it's possible that they were saying that is how it happened just to get a free replacement after they dropped it, didn't realize it, and ran over it with their SUV. I'm not saying that's what happened, because we'll never know for sure. I did that to a Nokia feature phone once. Cracked the screen, because the screen was face down in the gravel when I ran over it, but it didn't bend. I continued to use it for several weeks until I was able to obtain a new Nokia.

Even if it was a product flaw, a flaw in 9 phones out of over 10 million is not exactly a high rate of failure.

KhawarNadeem

Jul 6, 2014
Visit site
LOL, how cute, you're trying to justify your post.

One antenna issue with one phone: the iPhone 4. It was fixed with the 4s.

Not a hardware issue.

Again, one issue, with one phone: the iPhone 5. It was fixed with the 5s.

Don't forget about the other problems with the 920; Apple might have one problem per phone release, Nokia had multiples.