Nokia compiling VS Photoshop down sample.

shadyghost

Apr 10, 2012
Visit site
I can say without a doubt that Nokia's compiling is blurring my photos enough where its very noticeable. For example, I can take an image with Nokia Pro Camera, view the compiled pic then open the hires version and the image looks significantly sharper instantly. The easiest way see the difference though is download it to your computer both the hires and the compiled one and preview them one after the other. I opened the hires in photoshop and simply changed the size of the image to match the Nokia compiled image and the photoshop version is superior to Nokia's with similar file size. Anyone care to try this out themselves? I will upload examples later. Don't have a lot of time at the moment.

ParoleGA

Jul 23, 2013
Visit site
I would have to say no, I do not see any blur. I used Bicubic (Best for reduction) setting in photoshop. I am not a pro, so just tell me if that is not the best resize option. I do see a ton more pixelation, upon zooming, on the photoshop resize though. Probably the sharpener on the PS resize?

The PS resize was over twice the file size, too, at same resolution.

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=A0FF9C28060D5C47!1808&authkey=!AK-zru64zm5ID_o

tgr42

Jul 31, 2012
Visit site
shadyghost: I think it works opposite from what you described...? You are viewing the original images at 1:1 zoom level for sharpness comparisons, right? If not, you're adding another resize algorithm to the mix, which is a very bad idea.