Lumia Camera Shootout: 928 -vs- 1520 -vs- 830

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Hello and welcome to my little comparison. It's the first one of it's type for me and I hope you find it entertaining and worthwhile. I'll try and do a thorough job here comparing the cameras of these three models with a variety of Apps, shots and videos. I've also realized as I work on this thread that it is going to be very long so I will be adding to it in sections... First, let's get some proper introduction to the subject out of the way.

Why the 928, 1520 and 830?

Good question! The answer is that I happen to find myself with all three phones at once. I've been using the 1520 for some time now (since August of 2014) and love the beast. I've really been using it a lot to try and stretch my photography skills. Recently I came into possession of a 928 as part of a bundle I purchased mainly for the two DT-910 Qi charging stands included. The solid feel, the spec, and the reputation of the 928 made me hold onto it as a backup and sell off a recently purchased Blu Win HD. I'm also nostalgic about the 925 I owned before the 1520. And then a super deal on a refurbished 830 came to my attention and I just could not resist. 830 is the phone I almost bought before committing to the 1520. All the rumors/announcements/early peeks made me curious about the "affordable flagship" that was about to come out. Now I have two backups which seem very worthy and this shootout will help me decide between the two.

Why NOT the 928, 1520 and 830?

There is more to it than just my personal reasons. There are the phones themselves.