Problems updating an Ativ S GT-i8750 - OS 8.0.10211.204

sakaisencho

Jan 5, 2013
Visit site
Hi All,

I have an UNLOCKED and CARRIER FREE Ativ S GT-i8750, that I bought in an airport store a year or two ago...

I use it as on of my spare phones, (my others are windows phone too), and it gets switched between UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, and US carriers...

It works great (apart from shutting itself down every other night) which is a known bug and one I have come to live with (only a spare phone)

OS is 8.0.10211.204
Firmware revision number is 2620.13.01.2
Hardware revision number is 15.15.1.0

Now the phone still says it is up to date... and when connected to my computer, the PC tells me the phones software is the "latest and greatest"

I am not that tech savvy... just enough knowledge to screw it all up!

Can anyone assist me on how to update this phone... it has not had a single update from the day I bought it.

If I can get it to 8.0.10322.71 or newer, I think I can handle it from there.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

neo158

Oct 6, 2011
Visit site
Re: Problems updating an Ativ S GT-i750 - OS 8.0.10211.204

You don't connect your phone to your PC to get updates now, you need to check in phone update in settings. As for it telling you that you're up to date, have you checked it when it's set to the region you bought it in. Not sure if that would have any effect but it's worth a try.

I would ignore people who tell you to flash GDR3 manually unless you know exactly what you are doing.

sakaisencho

Jan 5, 2013
Visit site

Hi... thanks for the reply...

yes... I was checking the phone update settings, but also had it connected to the PC, mainly for charging... so I thought I would just check that too...

I will try that region setting right now... did not occur to me to try it... Thanks... will let you know what the result it.

Cheers

sakaisencho

Jan 5, 2013
Visit site

Well I changed the region back to the country I bought it in...