I'm sure many 928 users are just now coming out of contract and would appreciate an updated Ativ SE and Icon comparison to help them decide how to tidy them over until Verizon gets a new flagship. I have extensive 928 and Icon experience, and thought my next phone was going to be an Icon when my 928 contract was up, but I ultimately landed on the Ativ SE instead. I will not include the HTC One in this comparison as I have no actual hands on experience with it. And in my opinion, do not keep the 928. The Snapdragon S4 is lightyears behind the S800 in performance and the only redeeming feature of the 928 is Glance. If you hate waiting for web pages to load, poor javascript performance, crashing/resuming and the other 100 flaws the 928 has, the Icon and Ativ SE have none of that.

First things first, please do not expect to purchase an Ativ SE or Icon on contract. It is a waste of money and will keep you from being eligible for the windows 10 flagship upgrade later should you decide to do so. Verizon offers a $25 bring your own device discount on the $40 access fee once you are out of contract, which everyone should be taking advantage of while it lasts. This will save you $150 to $200 in access fees while you wait for the next flagship (or more if you can afford to purchase the flagship outright and continue using the BYOD discount). A manufacturer refurbished (mine was actually brand new in a refurbished box) Ativ SE will run you $159 on Ebay, Seller BidAllies. An Icon will run you about $239 (less if you catch one on ebay at the right time, make sure it is manufacturer refurb not seller refurb). Both are affordable, but the Ativ SE is in the impulse buy price range whereas the Icon is in the 'ask the wife' price range.