The Complete Guide: Upgrading the Samsung Ativ SE to Windows 10 Mobile

Status
Not open for further replies.

asellite

Jun 11, 2015
Visit site
Alright guys, I’ve never gotten to contribute anything to this forum before so I’m excited to bring you this guide. I’m just a guy, I’m not a programmer, I’m not a hacker, just a lover of Windows and super excited to bring W10M to your Ativ SE. Obviously if you brick your phone doing this I’m not responsible. Think long and hard about this decision before attempting! :D

I can’t take credit for any of the hard stuff. I just turned the babble from the Windows 10 on Ativ SE thread into a comprehensive guide. The real credit goes to these guys and gals:
Brad Herr
fatclue_98
Jeemo
arct1cblu3
So check out That Thread and make sure to give them lots of thanks and lovin.

On to the fun stuff.

First things first -> Download this ZIP

Inside you’ll find three files:
1. CustomPFD_003.xap
2. CustomWPSystem_006.xap
3. WP8.1 SDK Tools Setup.zip
4. Extract the ZIP and set the Custom XAP files aside.

Install the WP8.1 SDK Tools on your PC. This will install three programs on your computer which can be found in Start > All Apps > Windows Phone 8.1 SDK

In this folder will be the following programs:
1. Windows Phone Application Deployment 8.1
2. Windows Phone Developer Power Tools 8.1
3. Windows Phone Developer Registration 8.1
We won’t use #2 so disregard that program.

Now that your PC is set up to upgrade your phone we need to make sure your phone is ready to receive the update. There are a few important things to know about where you need to start with your phone.

You MUST begin this process with STOCK Windows phone 8.1.1 this means only OTA updates. If your phone is not on STOCK Windows Phone 8.1.1 then you need to flash back to 8.0 (there are many tutorials on this) and re-upgrade using OTA updates to 8.1.1.