I'm not a mobile developer and don't have the the Developer's preview of WP8.1. I suspect that is true for most people. I'm interested in the new features of 8.1 and WPCentral has done a thorough job of investigating those even prior to the Developer's release.

However, with each passing day, more and more of the articles on WPC are about tips and tricks for 8.1. I probably won't have 8.1 for at least another month and so those articles mean nothing to me. I'm interested in reading about the OS I currently have and use. All those little tips about 8.1 would be very interesting in a month or so when I have a phone that I can use them on. Sadly, by the time I have 8.1 I will long have forgotten all these little tips. Maybe when 8.1 is made available to the masses, WPC can put together an article that references all the tips and tricks currently being reported.

Am I the only one who would like WPC to get back to reporting on WP8 - the OS we currently use?
    cyborg4 likes this.
    04-21-2014 01:34 PM
    With 8.1 out in the world, there really isn't much left to be written for 8.0. Anybody who is developing an app should now have the 8.1 SDK, so even a new app (while perhaps compatible with 8.0) will be written explicitly for Windows 8.1. While we are justifiably excited about the big 8.1 update, the update pending and its implications pretty much fills the Windows Phone news cycle.
    04-21-2014 01:38 PM
    While I completely understand where you're coming from, I have to believe that this is to be expected. In my experience, the majority of people who visit sites like these are enthusiasts and probably have already gone on to the next "greatest" thing...alpha, beta, preview, whatever...so, the sites are just givin' 'em what they want.

And, as the poster above said, everything that needed to be said about 8.0 has been written.