I am not a developer or hacker...I'm a grandmother of 8 who helped invent the internet but am not able to decipher the ins and outs of getting my Samsung Focus S to use my ATT unlimited data SmartPhone bundle that I have had since ATT first invented it! I had a Focus that I used to tether my laptop via USB with no problems. However, I wanted to be able to create a hotspot in the hopes that I could use it with my iPad2. However, when I went to ATT to buy the Focus S, they wanted to force me to buy a "new" data plan. I may be a Granny but I'm not THAT stupid. Still, as the Focus S has Internet Sharing, I bought one on ebay, popped my SIM into it and just love it...but I can't get the data to work! Not even tethering via USB. If some one of you nice, kind hackers could give me the step-by-step, dumbed down instructions to make this thing work, I would be one happy granny!!!!!! :)
    04-02-2012 09:42 PM
    At this time the Focus S and all second generation devices can not achieve the necessary level of unlocked that is necessary to allow access to do this. You would have to get the AT&T data plan that allows Internet sharing to work. There are people working on it hopefully there will be an option available soon.
    webgranny likes this.
    04-02-2012 10:11 PM