How are devs earning with Windows Phone?

Nemory Studios

Jul 29, 2014
Visit site
I'm a BlackBerry developer and thinking of developing apps for the Windows phone platform. just want to hear from some devs how you guys doing with this platform. Thank you. :)

Posted via Windows Phone Central App

impe83

Sep 3, 2013
Visit site
Me too, im coming from iOS, would be nice to know some numbers.

And also what ad network u suggest for monetizing? is Pubcenter good? (I just check the official forum and looks full of angry devs.. :p)

Henrik Barna1

Aug 4, 2014
Visit site
Here in WP I think the app monetizing is not show much result. pubCenter has approx 10% fill rate, I tried adMob but it isnt as good as is on android. So I think the two available options are paid apps and inapp-purchase.

Donny Tytgat

May 14, 2014
Visit site
I've been using AdMob, and recently added PubCenter to my ad rotator. To be honest, ad earnings have been very low for me. All combined, I still can't pay 1 hour of my working hours, let alone the 100's of hours that actually went in making these apps. For AdMob, the 'Request RPM' lies at 0.07Euro (average from 100k+ impressions). For PubCenter, the 'eCPM' lies at 0.16Euro (average over 10k+ impressions). I've moved 80% of my ad impressions to adduplex for this reason (I'd rather have some advertising for the app instead of the marginal income from the ads).

Main contribution to these stats is the Cover - Facebook edition app which is ad supported but has the option to remove the ads via IAP. The revenue of this IAP is slightly higher than that of the ads (though still very limited - approx 0.2% IAP purchases / download).

As I said, with all combined earnings I can't even pay a single hour of my normal wage from building these apps. Luckily I'm doing this as a hobby ;).

I'd be happy to hear the experience from other devs!

Last edited:

LaikaGlove

May 11, 2014
Visit site