To upgrade or not, and which one??

ShannyMan

Apr 15, 2014
Visit site
I'm a software developer, currently using a Surface Book 2 with 16GB RAM. My RAM usage is constantly pegged between 95-100% (95% as I write this) so I need something with more memory. I was disappointed a Surface Book 3 didn't get released, but the Laptop 3 with 32 GB is very enticing. I've already pre-ordered the AMD consumer edition, but I'm curious what others think. I've been torn about this decision since these devices were revealed.

UserBenchmark ranks my current Surface Book 2 CPU slightly better than the Ryzen 3700U, which I understand to be that in the Laptop 3 (Plus an extra Vega core): https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel-Core-i7-8650U-vs-AMD-Ryzen-7-3700U/m353957vsm765724

1) Should I even bother upgrading at this time?
2) I need Windows 10 Pro anyways, which will cost me an extra $99 once I get the device. Should I spend the extra $$ and go for the Business version with the Intel chip? I also used a student discount on the Laptop 3 which I would lose with the Business version, thereby costing me several hundred dollars more than just the Win 10 Pro license.

I know there are other great laptops available, but I really want to stay in the Microsoft device ecosystem.

Thanks!

spicypadthai

Feb 27, 2014
Visit site
Assuming you pre-ordered through MS, you can return it for free until 1/31/20 so you'll get 3 months to evaluate. Combined with what you want for specs, your desire to stay with MS hardware, and the student discount, there's no downside to your decision b/c the Laptop 3 is your only option.

ShannyMan

Apr 15, 2014
Visit site
Good point about returning it if I'm unhappy. I never considered that but Microsoft does have a very generous return policy. Thanks!

bulls96

Jun 25, 2007
Visit site
I am also curious how these compare to the Book 2 with dedicated gpu.