Does Surface Laptop really perform well on its target purpose - device for students?

Nov 18, 2015
Visit site
I am a student, and we all know that Microsoft directed the Surface Laptop to education. But Im curious if it really does its job well. We have not seen much of its action but im wondering how it stands up in the competition with other devices "for students". We all know price is a thing.

Khaled alobaidli

May 12, 2017
Visit site
It is amazing, I like it. The screen, stand, pen, snapping keyboard, eye sensor login, fast sleep and restart capability, the availability of MS OneNote makes it super fit for learning and long with audio and video recording in the OneNote.

Username92

May 13, 2017
Visit site
I don't think the Surface Laptop is really targeted towards students.. It is like the Chromebook Pixel. Did Google expect companies to buy their employees the Pixel? No, they were just selling software on a beautiful piece of hardware. Microsoft is selling Windows 10S on a beautiful laptop. Schools are going to buy ProBook 250's with 10S on them not surface Laptop...

DrewK93

May 13, 2017
Visit site
I'm thinking about the students I know.
It's geared toward quick performance where the hardware works well and you're not sitting around waiting for the device to get ready to do something. That's a need I don't see met for a lot of students.
It's geared toward safety - only allowing installation of apps and programs that are curated by the Windows Store unless you intentionally upgrade. Most of the students I know aren't very technologically proficient, and many of them do little more than word processing, web browsing, and watching Netflix on their laptops. This device will do nicely for them, and for the ones who are more accustomed to technology who want to install things not curated by the store, they can upgrade easily.

I don't see how it could not be as good for students as they mean it to be!

sanjula01

Oct 6, 2014
Visit site