Usefullness of a touch screen on a standard laptop?

Koby Mendoza

Jun 18, 2015
Visit site
I am a video editor and I didn't think i could use touch to do anything useful in Premiere Pro. But when I got my XPS 15 i was amazed at how naturally i went to touch the screen to make edits. I would be editing away with my mouse or trackpad and then reach up to scroll the timeline,drag a clip around, select things, even manipulate masks and effects. I don't even think about it anymore. I have to work on a mac at my job and i always go to touch the screen. My Apple colleagues are always blown away at how intuitive touch workflow is. Even besides Premiere (which isn't even touch optimized at all) general computer navigation is a pleasure with touch!

Sebastianx

Dec 23, 2013
Visit site
I got a SP3 which is a joyful to use. Touchscreen is definitely useless if you will use a keyboard and mouse all the time. But i find the pen useful on annotations and the screenshot straight to onenote is a plus.

Oct 4, 2014
Visit site
I have a 17.3" standard clamshell laptop and I use the touchscreen way more than the trackpad. It is more natural, intuitive and fun than a trackpad. Jigsaw puzzle games and other casual games are well suited for touch screens. I even use picture password.

As an aside, there is a device that converts non touch screens to a touchscreen but it doesn't work as well as a native touchscreen (air.bar).

Someday I'll get a gaming laptop and it will have a touchscreen.

Ezhik

Jan 10, 2012
Visit site
I wonder that myself, actually. For all the Surfaces I owned, never actually had a straight up laptop with a touch screen.

Especially curious as to how you're supposed to use the pen with it lol.

kashgohel

Dec 16, 2015
Visit site