Dear Microsoft

resle

Dec 31, 2012
Visit site
Dear Microsoft,

I have been a user of MS software since 1991. It's a long time.
Back then, a PC user would walk to some computer store's shelves to buy software, and be presented with two choices:
reach out for some cheap, flimsy one-trick pony product - or open up wide the wallet and reach out for a Microsoft box.

Dear Microsoft I am still a user of MS software. I am, in particular, a Windows 10 and Windows Mobile user.
In the last two years, insider preview or not, slow ring or fast ring, my OS has been in a constant "state of becoming".
Every day I wake up to new UI effects, moving UI elements, name changes.
Every day I have a sigh of relief for a bug that's gone, and one of discontent for a brand new one.

I am a former developer - yet, I am confused.

I have two control panels.
I stumble on all sorts of visual styles and elements, all the way back to Win98 icons and dialogs.
The interaction "metaphors" themselves are all mixed up.
Something is mouse-centric, something is touch-centric, something fits both cases.
Something is based on vertical scrolling, something is based on horizontal scrolling.
Something is designed for clarity, something is designed to fit as much information as possible in one box/window/screen.
Menus are on top, they're coming from an ellipsis, from an hamburger on the right, on the left. They're sliding in from left. From right.
Windows are windows, windows are full screen, windows are split screens.
I am logged with my MS account, but some apps require me to log in again. From a webpage. Sometimes within a frame. Sometimes launching Edge.
Apps are built on Win32. They are built on Dot Net. They are built on WPF. They're Metro. They're Modern. They're Universal apps. Win32 apps are now "Desktop apps".

My Lumia Icon.
THE Windows Phone Flagship, at the time I bought it.
Much thicker, way heavier than any other phone with similar specs.