How do I best Microsoftize my new Pixel 2?

hopmedic

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
I've been using Microsoft phones for probably fifteen years - Windows CE (if I remember right), Windows Mobile, and Windows Phone. Last night I got tired of waiting. My nearly 4 year old Lumia Icon (wow, just looked up the launch date - the day I got it - and I didn't realize I was THAT close to 4 years!) has served me well. Since Microsoft is giving up, though, and hasn't let me get the latest insider builds on it, I finally decided that after two batteries have gone through it, I need a new phone. I decided on the Pixel 2.

I saw this thread (https://forums.windowscentral.com/a...ery-microsoft-windows-10-mobile-new-post.html), but since it is from last summer, and Microsoft has only improved their support of Android, I thought I'd ask the question.

I've got the Microsoft Launcher, and like it. I've got Cortana (I'm one of the people who talks to her - and has an Invoke in the living room as well), and of course the Office apps. Outlook is my mail app, Edge is my browser, OneDrive will have my pictures covered (I haven't taken any yet, though, so it's untested).

One issue is that I have the tap/hold home button set to Cortana, and if I say "Text my wife blah blah blah," it doesn't know who my wife is like my phone, or even my PC does. How do I fix that? Also, she says she'll send the text, but then when I look in the Messages app, it says the text didn't send, and I have to tap it to retry. How do I fix that?

Here's to venturing into a world where there are actually apps. I've been looking forward to PWAs, and I really didn't miss apps since I never had them, but there's the occasional place where they say to download their app to get a discount, so then I do miss out. This is going to take some getting used to, but I'm looking forward to it. I want to get rid of as many of Google's services as I can, though.

aximtreo

Jul 14, 2008
Visit site