New to Unlocked 1520

kdk24z

Apr 29, 2015
Visit site
Hello everyone.

I am relatively new to smart phones and admit right away I don't know much at all about them or how they work, and I really only use my current phone (Lumia 925 on T-Mobile) as a telephone, a rare text message, checking the weather and reading blogs and news/tech sites. I mostly only use the built-in apps that come with the phone, so I'm definitely not a power user like most of you all.

I don't know why, but one day last week I was browsing Amazon and saw a Lumia 1520 RM-937 for sale used quite inexpensively, and I bought it. I haven't received it yet, but I'm looking forward to playing around with it a bit when it arrives. I've read most of the various forum postings regarding the RM-937 on T-Mobile and what works and doesn't work, and I'm okay with the limitations.

One of my questions is can I go to my local T-Mobile store and ask them for a SIM card to put in the 1520 and add the 1520 to my current account with my 925? Does it cost anything for the SIM card for the 1520? Will I get charged by T-Mobile to "activate" the phone? Can both phones have the same phone number? I'm asking you folks these questions because I'm so clueless I'm susceptible to being told B.S. by the salespeople at the T-Mobile store and believing them.

For those with a 1520, has anyone compared running it with both 8/8.1 and 10, and did you have a preference for one over the other, and if so why? On my 925 I was using the Insider Program to use 10, but it just was a bit slow and flaky no matter the re-setting/hard-resetting, etc. that I've read about from others on this site, so I went back to 8.1. My 925 just seems to be better with 8.1 and I'm happy using 8.1 on it, but I know the 1520 is a much more souped-up phone so would likely do better with 10, so I'm curious what other 1520 user's experiences and recommendations are.