How many cores does a smartphone need?

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
Dont forget the HTC "Zenith"! ... I remember all the rumours about the specs of the HD7 that were disproved when it was eventually released, and so many were disappointed and vowed not to buy WP because they were "betrayed". Probably going to happen all over again this year. :dry

I'm afraid you may be right. There are tons of rumors flying around right now, and many will take them at face value simply because they want to believe them. I'm no marketing expert, but I'm convinced the WP community is smart enough to understand Microsoft's decisions... if Microsoft would just finally explain them!

Microsoft has always made it very clear that platform standardization is very important to them:

Windows Phone 7 brings all the advantages of a standardized platform and a consistent developer experience to the Microsoft platform

source: Chapter 1 - Introducing Windows Phone 7

The Windows Phone Application Platform, like most platforms, will continue to evolve over time, but its goal will always be to deliver:
- Richer applications, developed for a highly standardized platform.

source: Application Platform Overview for Windows Phone

A platform that promotes hardware variance so large, that it tolerates a varying number of CPU cores, is not a platform anyone would call standardized. Microsoft has great reasons for this strict standardization, but they just aren't telling anyone. Frustrating!

I think things got out of hand when Microsoft stated WP8 can support up to 64 cores. While that is true, it doesn't say anything about the hardware Microsoft certified for use with WP8.

lippidp

Jun 7, 2011
Visit site
I need as many cores and RAM as possible so I can run as many virtual machines as possible. If I can place only a phone in my server rack and hook it up to the SAN somehow just think how much money I will save!!!

snowmutt

Jul 4, 2011
Visit site