Per Mary Jo - Possibly 2018 now...wow.

Allen Rhodes

Feb 9, 2014
Visit site
Its not an issue of better/different, its a matter of quality. Microsoft will have a better ability to get higher end hardware, i.e. camera sensors. As I stated, if the X3 had the 20mp Zeiss camera the XL has, game over for other windows phones. But that seems to be the thing with every windows phone, MS or third party. There is always SOMETHING lacking. The hope is the Surface phone will be top of the line of the top of the line at the time. I cant switch due to the cameras alone. Sites can post all the comparisons they want, for actual photography, that Zeiss lens is the tits. Apple can use all the software they want to pretty up a picture, as a photographer, I want RAW.

sd4f

Feb 8, 2013
Visit site
A week ago, in a different thread, I said that I wouldn't be surprised if the surface phone was vapourware or even cancelled.

Well, it's not quite the same thing, but heading in that direction. I'm not surprised...

I get the feeling that after the bad press this year of how there's no market share to speak of, I think their strategy has changed, and it's now really appearing to no longer involve us, the consumer, at all. Ultimately I don't know, but constant bad news doesn't bode well for us.

DLong4

Aug 19, 2014
Visit site
I don't think I have quite figured out this fascination with a 'Surface Phone'.

I'm guessing it's to do with styling and the fact it's a MS product? Other than that I really don't see what the big deal is. What do you expect it to do that will be different than say the HP X3?

NFC would be a start, as well as stylus support. The hardware and firmware should be tailored to a more mature W10M OS.

Vittorio Vaselli

Dec 13, 2014
Visit site
I don't think I have quite figured out this fascination with a 'Surface Phone'.